Ayia Napa, once a small fishing village, and now the clubbing capital of the island, is home to one of the oldest buildings on the island. This charming medieval monastery, dedicated to ''Our Lady of the Forests'', stands in the middle of the village surrounded by a high wall. Both the village and the monastery take their name from the ancient Greek word for wooded valley "Napa"– a reference to the morphology of the area in the past. Built like a medieval castle around 1500 AD, Ayia Napa Monastery is the best known landmark of the village as well as of the surrounding area. The monastery is partly built underground and cut into the rock.
The ancient sycamore tree in front of the south gate is believed to be over 600 years old.
The monastery was restored in 1950 and in 1978. Now it has become an Ecumenical Conference Centre serving churches in Cyprus and the Middle East. A new church built in 1994 south-west of the monastery is also dedicated to the Virgin Mary.
During the summer months, the monastery is open from 09.30 – to 21.00 hrs and during the winter, from 09.30 – 15.00 hrs.
More information here